FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES May 25, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mrs. Powers, Mr. Monroe, Mr. Veitch

Mr. McNamara, Mrs. Kuechler

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mrs. McKenna (prior notice)

STAFF PRESENT: Dr. Baldwin, Mrs. Tavares

STAFF ABSENT:

OTHERS PRESENT: Alyssa Botelho, Student Representative, Diane Sullivan, Staff,

Nicholas Bretz, <u>Staff</u>, Amy Hartley-Matteson, <u>Staff</u>, Tara Kohler, <u>Staff</u>, Andrew Davey, <u>Staff</u>, Mary-Jane Muello, <u>Staff</u>, Bernard Roderick, Community Member, John Medeiros,

Community Member, other visitors/guests

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:30 p.m.

The Chair informed the audience that the meeting was being videotaped.

Roll Call: Powers, Veitch, McNamara, Monroe, Kuechler

Mrs. Kuechler and John Medeiros presented Mr. Roderick with a plaque of appreciation for his dedication to the Fairhaven Public Schools and the School Community.

Dr. Baldwin introduced Dr. Nicholas Bretz, the new Hastings Middle School Principal to the School Committee.

Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mr. Monroe to approve the May 17, 2016 regular session minutes. Voted 4-0-1 Mrs. Kuechler abstained

There was no public comment.

Alyssa Botelho, Student Representative informed the School Committee of recent and upcoming events taking place at FHS.

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee an update regarding the FPS Teaching and Learning Plan.

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee an update regarding the FPS Student Services Plan.

The School Committee received and placed on file Administration Regulation JH-R Student Absences and Excuses.

The next scheduled School Committee meeting will be June 8, 2016.

FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES MAY 25, 2016 PAGE 2

Motion made by Mr. McNamara and seconded by Mr. Veitch to adopt on 2nd reading policy JJF Student Activity Accounts. Voted 5-0 unanimously

The School Committee received on 1st reading policy JH-Student Absences and Excuses.

Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mr. McNamara to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting and go into executive session for contractual issues and not return into regular session. Roll call: Powers-yes, Veitch-yes, McNamara-yes, Monroe-yes, Kuechler-yes Voted 5-0 unanimously

Adjourned 7:34 p.m.

Robert Baldwin, Ed.D Secretary to the School Committee Fairhaven Public Schools